December

Wow, it’s been more than a month since I last wrote on here. Sorry about the hiatus people; things have been really crazy in the past month – I had a terrible cold that just wouldn’t leave my body and my chronic insomnia was really getting to me. Anyway, everything has gotten better now and I have  already finished two out of my three exams.

I have to say the most difficult thing this semester is to take on an ancient language while  keeping up with my two other subjects (one being my main one). Obviously, I have my reasons for taking  Ancient Greek, but I really didn’t expect it to be that much work. We’ve only learned the alphabets in late September and by now we have already covered up to past tenses (what they called “Aorist tense” and they have DIFFERENT kinds of past tenses.) We are also expected to translate relatively long passages, so imagine the amount of vocabulary, verb forms, noun forms, etc that we have to memorize. Ever since the compulsory Chinese class back in community college, I’ve never had that huge of a challenge with a class before. Nevertheless, I am not a quitter, and I am genuinely interested in Ancient Greek, therefore I am planning to revise it over this winter break – to  prepare for next semester. (I really hate dropping a class, just because I’m “bad” at it, but not because I don’t like it)  So, wish me luck guys!

Another thing that I want to mention is that I am really upset that one of my very good friends is leaving Glasgow. She’s an American student, who’s only here for a semester, so her time here is almost up… We’ve gotten pretty close over these three months, which is pretty rare (though we both knew that she would have to leave eventually). I am very glad that Glasgow has a large amount of exchange students from all over the world, and it’s awesome that I get to know so many of them, but it saddens me when my new friends have to return home so soon. I wish my friend all the best though!

It seems like everybody is in a merry mood and all ready for the holidays. Frankly, I am not that big of a holiday person, and again, I have my very odd reasons for that. But, I do respect my family when they celebrate it, so I will probably go visit my sister at some point and join her in whatever that she does for Christmas, probably go to a midnight service to sing Christmas carols or something (other than that, I have Ancient Greek vocabulary to learn). I hope that all of you will have a nice and enjoyable winter break!

-Ruby

0 Responses to “December”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Calendar

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers


